I hate Mitchell and Webb (when they’re not on Peep Show)

by

Mitchell and Webb

Why is it that Mitchell and Webb are so heartbreakingly unfunny in anything other than Peep Show? I can’t even squeeze out a teeny tiny chuckle or crack even a mini half smile if I watch anything else they do on TV. As much as I want to like their other stuff, I just can’t bring myself to. What makes it worse is that I’m what you might call a massive Peep Show fan. I simply cannot get enough of it. I really do love it. I mean, what’s not to love? Nerdy, awkward, bumbling, saucer-eyed Mark with his strange endearing uptight ways and Jez with his try hard, cringy desperation and shallow naïve arrogance. They are a match made in TV heaven. They have the best on screen chemistry since Wayne and Garth. Or maybe Cagney and Lacey. Or maybe The Likely lads. Yeah that’s more like it – Mark and Jeremy are the modern day Likely Lads. Peep Show is definitely the best thing on TV. (Admittedly the last series got a little ridiculous with the dead dog but let’s not dwell on that.)

So why do they get it so wrong elsewhere? Their movie debut, The Magicians, was appalling. Do you know anyone who paid money to see that at the cinema? I got as far as watching half of the trailer on YouTube before I started slowing shaking my head with disappointment and my fist with anger. It looked about as entertaining as a triple bill of Claire Sweeney’s 60 Minute Makeover. Then there’s That Mitchell and Webb Look, which is the televisual equivalent of having an Alsatian do a poo on your face. Unless I am missing something it’s just sort of sneery, annoying public school boy try-too-hard comedy that makes them seem like a pair of knob-ends. Considering Peep Show will soon be coming to an end, it makes me teary-eyed just thinking what their future might hold. The way things are going I am picturing collaborations with Hale and Pace on Iceland commercials within a year or two.

7 Responses to “I hate Mitchell and Webb (when they’re not on Peep Show)”

  1. Liam Says:

    I thought they were quite funny…

  2. Damien Says:

    I think Mitchell and Webb are excellent on radio and TV. They are one of few sketch shows that have new material, and funny material. You have shows like Little Britain and recycle all there old characters without offering anything new and relying on a catch-phrase to get laughs.

    There are amazing, and different, and have a good future outside of Peep Show.

  3. Jon Says:

    You are so very right. Peep Show is one of the best shows I know, but this new series is such a step down. Sadly I think it’s Peep Show’s writers that they need…desperately. I just watched a few clips on YouTube (it’s my only choice — I’m American) and I think I’ll just avoid those two for now. I have my Peep Show DVDs to keep me company.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    ujroisz’oiudfdg9zvsciox;Jkl; y35eol

  5. Chris Wordsworth Says:

    They’re great you tasteless wench, you have the comedic pallette of a cow’s anus.

  6. tauttyHic Says:

    Бесплатная доска объявлений http://donlife.ru/.

  7. Anonymous Says:

    The Magicians was not their best work, but I’m amazed that someone wouldn’t like That Mitchell and Webb Look, those skits are dead on.

Leave a Reply

